My Journey to a healthy lifestyle

Part 1: In the beginning

I have spent the better part of my life trying to lose weight and I did succeed in the first year of my University career. I have to say that I did have youth on my side and a whole lot of time on my hands as a student. I went from a hefty 110kg to somewhere in the region of 75 to 78kg. Looking back on how I did it, I can honestly say that the only correct thing that I had done was to do regular exercise. I was working out at the gym 6 times a week, and it was during this time that I fell in love with the idea of working out, particularly lifting weights. I didn’t really have a clue about how important good nutrition was when dieting, all I knew was that I had to eat smaller portions and cut out the ‘bad stuff’. The ‘bad stuff’ for me included the obvious things like: sugary fizzy drinks, cakes, sweets, crisps, basically that which we all know as the good tasting stuff that’s bad for you….

I had not eaten any of the ‘bad stuff’ for a year and my diet consisted mainly of toast with tea or coffee and water. Now I know that the dieticians and related experts are shaking their heads at that, but in my defence, I was very young and really didn’t have an understanding of basic nutrition. Any dietician would tell you that that is not a sustainable diet.

As the years progressed my eating habits regressed to before I had started my crusade and that meant that my weight had also progressed, upwards….

Click here to go to My Journey to a healthy lifestyle Part 2

About Shaun That Awesome Guy

Husband to the most beautiful woman, Man of honour, Gym enthusiast, Artist, Man of Steel, That Awesome Guy.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness, My Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Journey to a healthy lifestyle

  1. T Hollis says:

    Weight loss and wellness are a journey, not an event. That’s why “diets” don’t work. It must be a “Live It!”
    Thanks for stopping by my Post today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

