My Journey to a healthy lifestyle

Part 2: The change.

The weight didn’t really help the fact that I was a chronic asthmatic. Looking back now I would say that the fact that I was asthmatic was the best motivator for me joining my local gym.

 

I remember the first day I started at the gym – I weighed in at 110kg, and a very large percentage of that was body fat. Nick Rust (who is the owner of Better Bodies Health Studio in Durban – the first gym I ever joined) had taken me through a session that started with 10 minutes of cycling. Those 10 minutes were probably the longest of my life. My heart was pounding out of my chest, my breathing was heavy, it seemed as though I couldn’t suck in enough air with each breath, and my legs were burning, and I was only 2 minutes into the cycling.

 

I also did some weight training that day, I benched a whole 20kg (I guess you have to start somewhere, right?), and curled 5kg per arm. That evening I had a hot shower and hit the bed, I slept like a baby. When I woke in the morning, I put my feet on the floor and pushed myself off the bed only to realise that my legs were screaming at me in pain, I had felt muscles I never thought I had. In spite of the pain I went to the gym for the second time, then the third and then the forth. I had taken a day’s break (as per the instruction from Nick). The next week came around and I did it all over again. By the third week I had noticed that I had more energy, the pain was gone and I felt, generally, good. As the months went by I was going to the gym 6 times a week and loving it. I particularly loved hitting the weights hard! The harder I pushed, the more fat I lost, but I wasn’t building quality muscle…

Click on the logo “That Awesome Guy” at the top of the page to the home page.

About Shaun That Awesome Guy

Husband to the most beautiful woman, Man of honour, Gym enthusiast, Artist, Man of Steel, That Awesome Guy.
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Journey to a healthy lifestyle

  1. Pingback: How to reduce the proportion of fat in your body | INFO-BLOGGER.NET

Leave a Reply

