Walking the Talk (applying the principles of healthy living)

I have struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. The battle continued from high school into university where I applied some drastic measures resulting in a large amount of weight loss over a short period of time. I did not have the knowledge or experience of healthy nutritional eating for purpose, and goal oriented training. My meals consisted mostly of toast and all I had to drink was tea, coffee and water. I did however apply, inadvertently, certain principles like drinking a lot of water, significantly reducing my intake of sugars and other processed foods.

The big mistakes that I did make were; not eating meals that provided the nutrients and vitamins that my body requires to function optimally, I also did not properly work out. In that I knew that I wanted to lose body fat and, like most guys at that age, I wanted bigger muscles. I was going through the motions of training but I was not nor was I eating with purpose.

The years passed by, I’ve grown to love lifting weights and i would say that I have done A LOT of reading on the topic of health and fitness. Honestly, though, I have not been able to get my diet right. And we all know that a good diet is 80% of battle. The result of this was that, over time my weight went up and down.

I decided that I would start to walk the talk and apply the knowledge I have gained. 12 weeks ago I revamped my diet, by drinking more water, I don’t drink fizzy drinks and every meal I eat consists of a protein and a nutrient dense salad. I always ask myself, “why am I eating this, or will this meal take me closer to my goal or further away from it”. I have also revamped my training routine, I focus on my weak areas in terms of weight training and have increased my cardio. My goal is to become strong and ripped.

I started this journey at 104.6kg, 12 weeks later I weighed in at 98kg.
I’m going strong and I will keep walking the talk.

About Shaun That Awesome Guy

Husband to the most beautiful woman, Man of honour, Gym enthusiast, Artist, Man of Steel, That Awesome Guy.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

